String Quartet No. 2

Year of composition
Scored for
for string quartet
Georg Friedrich Haas


World Premiere

Location: Konzerthaus Wien / Austria
Date: 24.03.1998
Orchestra: Hagen Quartett
Kompositionsauftrag des BMUK und des Konzerthauses

Work introduction

My String Quartet No. 2 – a commission by the Wiener Konzerthaus for the Hagen Quartet – combines tonal, apparently historicising sound elements with microtonal adjustments, temporal expansions and compressions and a sometimes virtuoso, flickering sound picture. Tradition shines through again and again, but it appears as something lost, distant, clouded.

© Georg Friedrich Haas

Ensembles that have played this work

London Sinfonietta
Arditti String Quartet
Hagen Quartett
Kairos Quartett
Quatuor Diotima