„… e finisci già?“

Year of composition
Scored for
for orchestra
Georg Friedrich Haas
2 2 2 2 – 2 2 2 0 – timp, str (8 6 4 3 2)
Instrumentation details

1st flute
2nd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
strings (8 6 4 3 2)

Commissioned by

Auftragswerk der Salzburger Festspiele


World Premiere

Location: Mozarteum Salzburg / Austria
Date: 25.08.2012
Orchestra: Mozarteumorchester Salzburg
Conductor: Titus Engel

Work introduction

This orchestral work by Georg Friedrich Haas was inspired by Mozart’s fragment for the Horn Concerto No. 1 K. 412, which Haas considers an impressive personal document. “At the beginning of the concerto movement, Mozart places the D major chord exactly in the position of the overtone chord,” Haas says. “This overtone chord is the centre of my short piece, out of which the beginning of the movement unfolds, as written by Mozart – in four different temporal elongations and contractions simultaneously.”

Ensembles that have played this work

Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra
Orchestra Teatro Comunale Bologna
Alabama SO
Mozarteumorchester Salzburg