chants oubliés

Year of composition
Scored for
for chamber orchestra
Georg Friedrich Haas
0 0 2 0 – 2 2 2 0, vln(8), vla(4), vc(4), cb(2)
Instrumentation details

1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
1st violin
2nd violin
3rd violin
4th violin
5th violin
6th violin
7th violin
8th violin
1st viola
2nd viola
3rd viola
4th viola
1st violoncello
2nd violoncello
3rd violoncello
4th violoncello
1st contrabass
2nd contrabass

Commissioned by

Commissioned by Münchener Kammerorchester, Alexander Liebreich, Artistic Director (in co-operation with Kunstfest Weimar) and Los Angeles Philharmonic Association, Gustavo Dudamel, Music Director


World Premiere

Location: Pinakothek der Moderne München / Germany
Date: 04.06.2011
Orchestra: Münchener Kammerorchester
Conductor: Alexander Liebreich

Work introduction

Chants oubliés is written for a chamber orchestra separated into two groups. One group consists of 8 violins, 4 violas and 4 celli (i.e. 4 string quartets making up one ensemble); the other group consists of two of each of the following: clarinets, horns, trumpets, trombones and double basses.
The title refers to late works by Franz Liszt (Valses oubliés, Romance oubliée) – Liszt’s technique of presenting one-part melodies in a different sound environment (often that of the piano) is applied here to the possibilities of the chamber orchestra.
Georg Friedrich Haas

Ensembles that have played this work

Münchener Kammerorchester
Los Angeles Philharmonic
Narodowa Orkiestra Symfoniczna Polskiego Radia w Katowicach